official # Minute Thesis banner

3 Minute Thesis Challenge 2017

At this years 2017 Graduate Research Conference (GRC) we will once against host the 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) competition. The 3MT is an academic competition that challenges students to describe their research within three minutes to a general audience. 3MT celebrates the discoveries made by research students and encourages their skill in communicating the importance of research to the broader community

3MT Event Finals!

The top 12 finalists have been selected and are moving on to compete in the final round, which will be held on April 26 from 2-4pm in MUB Theater II. Help us pack the house and support our grad students as the condense their years of research into just 3 minutes! Learn more about our finalists and the incredible research they are doing here at UNH.

This year we decided to provide a practive run for the 3MT. Below is a short video of the practice run. For full details see our Research on the Road profile story.

If you would like to sign up for the 3MT challenge please visit the Graduate School Event Registration page. Students whose research relates to the State of New Hampshire are asked to indicate so in the "Comments" section of their registration.

Challenge Rules

While preparing your 3 Minute Thesis presentation, we ask that you please note the following:

  • A single static PowerPoint slide is permitted. No slide transitions, animations or "movement" of any description are allowed. The slide is to be presented from the beginning of the oration.
  • No additional electronic media (e.g. sound and video files) are permitted.
  • No additional props (e.g. costumes, musical instruments, laboratory equipment) are permitted.
  • Presentations are limited to 3 minutes maximum and competitors exceeding 3 minutes are disqualified.
  • Presentations are to be spoken word (eg. no poems, raps or songs).
  • Presentations are to commence from the front of the theater.
  • Presentations are considered to have commenced when a presenter starts their presentation through either movement or speech.
  • The decision of the adjudicating panel is final.

Judging Criteria

3 Minute Thesis presentation will be judged on the following:

Comprehension and Content

  • Did the presentation provide an understanding of the background to the research question being addressed and its significance?
  • Did the presentation clearly describe the key results of the research including conclusions and outcomes?
  • Did the presentation follow a clear and logical sequence?
  • Was the thesis topic, key results and research significance and outcomes communicated in language appropriate to a non-specialist audience?
  • Did the speaker avoid scientific jargon, explain terminology and provide adequate background information to illustrate points?
  • Did the presenter spend adequate time on each element of their presentation - or did they elaborate for too long on one aspect so that other aspects of the presentation felt rushed?

Engagement and Communication

  • Did the oration make the audience want to know more?
  • Was the presenter careful not to trivialize or generalize their research?
  • Did the presenter convey enthusiasm for their research?
  • Did the presenter capture and maintain their audience's attention?
  • Did the speaker have sufficient stage presence, eye contact and vocal range; maintain a steady pace, and have a confident stance?
  • Did the PowerPoint slide enhance the presentation - was it clear, legible, and concise?

We would like to thank all of our 3MT judges for supporting the work of our students, and we would also like to thank all of the graduate students who participated in the Challenge. We look forward to next year's event!

Congratulations to the 2016 3MT Challenge Winners!

photo of 2016 3 Minute Thesis winners and Graduate School staff

The UNH Graduate School would like to congratulate the winners of our inaugural 3 Minute Thesis Challenge! They include:

  • Lesley Atwood, Ph.D. Natural Resources: Winner and People's Choice Selection

  • Susan Deily-Swearingen, Ph.D. History: Runner-Up

  • Maria Marin-Jarrin, M.S. Oceanography: Runner Up