Faculty Research

Alyson Eberhardt and Dave Burdick separate beachgrass

David Burdick, faculty advisor with Alyson Eberhardt, recent NRESS Ph.D. alum '19G

The NRESS Ph.D. Program is very proud of the more than 75 UNH faculty members who advise, mentor and serve on numerous guidance and doctoral committees for 56 NRESS students. As seen on the menus for NRESS Faculty Affiliations, NRESS faculty represent a wide range of 23 research groups, departments, and schools, colleges and UNH outreach.

Prospective students are encouraged to contact NRESS faculty members directly when seeking a potential advisor for mentoring and possible funding of applicant’s doctoral studies.

  Faculty | Email Department/Research Group Research Interests
  John Aber
john.aber@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecosystems, acid rain, modeling, agroecosystems
  Heidi Asbjornsen
heidi.asbjornsen@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest ecology
 

Catherine M. Ashcraft
catherine.ashcraft@unh.edu

Natural Resources and the Environment Environmental policy and planning; International environmental governance; Negotiation and dispute resolution; Water resources management
  Semra Aytur
semra.aytur@unh.edu
Health Management and Policy Relationships between policy, environment, and systems change to promote healthy behaviors and prevent chronic diseases
  Kimberly J. Babbitt
kbabbitt@unh.edu 
Natural Resources and the Environment Wildlife ecology, amphibian ecology; ecology of temporary aquatic systems
  Margaret Boettcher
margaret.boettcher@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Earthquake physics, rock mechanics, and frictional behavior of faults
  Jennifer Brewer
jennifer.brewer@unh.edu
Geography

Human-environment dynamics, political ecology, policy, natural resource co-management, collective action, fisheries, climate change

 

Analena Bruce
analena.bruce@unh.edu

Agriculture, Nutrition & Food Systems Alternative agriculture and food systems, regulatory policy and new science and technology in the food system, and sustainable intensification
  Julie Bryce
julie.bryce@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Applications of trace element and isotope geochemistry to lithospheric, hydrologic, atmospheric and biogeochemical processes
 

Elizabeth Burakowski
elizabeth.burakowski@unh.edu

Earth Sciences/Earth Systems Research Center

Snow, climate, climate modeling, citizen science, land-atmosphere interactions

  David Burdick
david.burdick@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/Jackson Estuarine Laboratory

Ecology and restoration of coastal wetlands and their plants; Science and management of created and restored wetlands

  Rosemarie Came
rosemarie.came@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Paleoclimatology, with a specific interest in the forcings that initiate climate changes, and the mechanisms by which climatic signals propagate globally
 

John E. Carroll
(Professor Emeritus)
john.carroll@unh.edu

Natural Resources and the Environment Ecological ethics and values, sustainable agriculture, food and energy sustainability
  William Clyde
will.clyde@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Vertebrate paleontology, paleomagnetism, stratigraphy, paleoclimate
  Russell Congalton russ.congalton@unh.edu Natural Resources and the Environment Remote sensing and geographic information systems
  Alexandra Contosta
alix.contosta@unh.edu
Earth Systems Research Center

Land use-climate feedbacks; urban ecology, winter ecology; ecosystem ecology

  J. Matthew Davis
matt.davis@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Renewable energy and geothermal
  Jack Dibb
jack.dibb@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Atmospheric chemistry, air-snow exchange
  Semme Dijkstra
s.dijkstra@unh.edu
Center for Coastal & Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center

Ocean Mapping: seafloor characterization, small object detection, habitat mapping and, handling and processing of crowd sourced ocean mapping data

  Kurk Dorsey
kurk.dorsey@unh.edu
History U.S. foreign relations, environmental history, Canada
  Mark Ducey
mark.ducey@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest inventory and biometrics, quantitative silviculture, and applied ecology
  Jessica Ernakovich
Jessica.Ernakovich@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Microbial ecology, arctic ecology, biogeochemistry, stable isotopes, and soil health

  Charles French
charlie.french@unh.edu
NH Extension Civic agriculture, rural economic development, sustainable tourism development, and community entrepreneurship/innovation
  Serita Frey
serita.frey@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Microbial ecology, ecosystem ecology, global change biology

  Mary Adamo Friedman
Mary.Friedman@unh.edu

Natural Resources and the
Environment

Sustainable local and regional land use planning; policy, regulatory and voluntary approaches in planning; community development and social justice; cooperative decision-making processes; social capital; social marketing; applied research; community-based action research; qualitative research methods
  Stephen Frolking
steve.frolking@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Earth Systems Research Center

Earth system science, carbon cycle, land and water use

  Kevin Gardner
kevin.gardner@unh.edu
Carsey School of Public Policy Contaminant behavior in estuarine environments, contaminated sediment chemistry and management, trace chemical behavior in the environment
  Jeffrey Garnas
Jeff.Garnas@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Ecology and evolution of insects and pathogens in forest ecosystems; insect-fungal interactions; biological invasions; genetics

  Stuart Grandy
stuart.grandy@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Soil fertility and biogeochemistry
  John Gunn
John.Gunn@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Forest management and carbon dynamics; degraded forest restoration; invasive plant impacts on ecosystem services

  Iago Hale
iago.hale@unh.edu

 

Agriculture, Nutrition and Food Systems

Development of plant genetic resources for sustainable food systems; agronomic and horticultural breeding, genetics, and genomics; agricultural system diversification

  John Halstead
john.halstead@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Solid waste management, local agriculture, social capital, nonmarket valuation, environmental economics
  Lawrence Hamilton
lawrence.hamilton@unh.edu
Sociology Statistics, survey research, the Arctic
  Erik Hobbie
erik.hobbie@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Earth Systems Research Center Mycorrhizal fungi, isotopes, carbon and nitrogen cycling
  Theodore Howard
ted.howard@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Forest management and economics, economics of natural resources
  Meghan Howey
meghan.howey@unh.edu
Anthropology Archaeology: anthropocene, landscape, geospatial modeling, cultural heritage and sustainability, North America
  Jennifer Jacobs
jennifer.jacobs@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Surface water hydrology and land-surface water and energy dynamics
  Joel Johnson
joel.johnson@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Marine geology, sedimentology, and structural geology/tectonics
  Nancy Kinner
nancy.kinner@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Bioremediation of contaminated subsurface environments and more generally, environmental microbiology
  Adrienne Kovach
adrienne.kovach@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Molecular ecology, population biology, adaptation, conservation genetics and genomics of vertebrates 

  Jo Laird
jo.laird@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Metamorphic petrology
  Richard Lammers
richard.lammers@unh.edu
Earth Systems Research Center Hydrological cycle and human influences
  Thomas Lee
(Professor Emeritus)
tom.lee@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Invasion ecology
  Joseph Licciardi
joe.licciardi@unh.edu
Earth Sciences Glacial geology, volcanology, and paleoclimatology
  Anne Lightbody
anne.lightbody@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Civil and Environmental Engineering Flow and transport within surface water systems, including rivers, streams, lakes, fresh-water wetlands, and salt-water marshes
  Anthony Lyons
anthony.lyons@ccom.unh.edu
Center for Coastal & Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center Underwater acoustics and acoustical oceanography
  Mary Martin
mary.martin@unh.edu
Earth Systems Research Center

Environmental Sensors, data visualization, and information management

  Larry Mayer
Larry.Mayer@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/
CCOM/JHC
Ocean mapping
  William McDowell
bill.mcdowell@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Land use and water quality, ecosystem ecology, biogeochemical cycles

  Michael Merenda
michael.merenda@unh.edu
Management Strategic management, entrepreneurship, international business and SME competitiveness
  Weiwei Mo
weiwei.mo@unh.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering Sustainable and resilient urban infrastructure, complex systems modeling, life cycle assessment, industrial ecology
 

Rem Moll
Remington.Moll@unh.edu

Natural Resources and the Environment Wildlife ecology, spatial ecology, urban ecology, community ecology, quantitative ecology
  Gregg Moore
gregg.moore@unh.edu
Biological Sciences/Jackson Estuarine Laboratory

Coastal wetland restoration ecology, conservation and land management

  Paula Mouser

Paula.Mouser@unh.edu

 

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Fate of emerging contaminants (PPCPs, PFAS) in the environment; Bioremediation of contaminated environments; Environmental microbiology of water and wastewaters; -Omics tools applied to engineered systems

  Scott Ollinger
scott.ollinger@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/Earth Systems Research Center

Forest ecosystems, climate change, carbon and nitrogen cycling, ecosystem-climate feedbacks, remote sensing, modeling

  Michael Palace
michael.palace@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Earth Systems Research Center Tropical forest ecology and structure
  Peter Pekins
pete.pekins@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Ecological energetics of wildlife; big game management
  James Pringle
jpringle@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/OPAL Physical oceanography
  Robert Robertson
rob.robertson@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Human dimensions in natural resources management, sustainable tourism development
  Shannon Rogers
Shannon.Rogers@unh.edu
NH Extension Describing and quantifying how people use and value nature
  Rebecca J. Rowe
rebecca.rowe@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Vertebrate community ecology, landscape ecology, impacts of land use and climate change, ecosystem sustainability, historical ecology
  Thomas Safford
tom.safford@unh.edu
Sociology/
International Affairs
Analyzing inter-organizational relationships and understanding the roles different public and private sector organizations play in environmental management
  Joseph E. Salisbury

joe.salisbury@unh.edu

Earth Sciences/OPAL Characterize distributions of carbon dioxide, air-sea carbon exchange, acidification and productivity in riverine-influenced coastal regions, developing methods for understanding community productivity dynamics and plume detection using satellite ocean color data
  Rebecca Sideman

Becky.Sideman@unh.edu

Agriculture, Nutrition and Food Systems/NH Extension Sustainable agriculture, vegetable and small fruit production, plant breeding and genetics, plant disease resistance and pathogen interactions, plant pathology and disease management
  Richard G. Smith
richard.smith@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment Agroecology, sustainable agricultural systems, weed ecology and management, functional role of biological diversity in agroecosystems, plant invasions, community ecology
  Jeannie Sowers
Jeannie.Sowers@unh.edu
Political Science/ International Affairs Comparative environmental politics, environment and politics in the Middle East and North Africa, climate and resource politics, war and the environment
  Michael Swack
michael.swack@unh.edu
 
Economics/Carsey School of Public Policy Development finance, community development, economic development and microfinance
  Douglas Vandemark
doug.vandemark@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/OPAL Air-sea interaction and ocean remote sensing
  Ruth Varner
ruth.varner@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Earth Systems Research Center

Long-term measurements of methane and carbon dioxide exchange in Arctic, temperate, tropical and human managed ecosystems

  Cameron Wake
cameron.wake@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/Earth Systems Research Center

Paleoclimatology, climate change, sustainability, engaged scholarship, flooding

  Larry Ward
larry.ward@unh.edu
Earth Sciences/
CCOM/JHC
Coastal geology, sedimentation
  Fiona Wilson
fiona.wilson@unh.edu
Sustainability Institute Corporate sustainability, business models designed for social and environmental impact, social entrepreneurship
  Wilfred Wollheim
wil.wollheim@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Watershed nutrient and carbon dynamics, aquatic ecosystems, controls of water quality, watershed and ecosystem modeling

  Adam Wymore
adam.wymore@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment

Aquatic ecosystems, watershed biogeochemistry, carbon and nitrogen cycling, water quality

  Jingfeng Xiao
j.xiao@unh.edu
Earth Systems Research Center Terrestrial carbon cycle, remote sensing, ecological modeling, disturbances, vegetation dynamics, land cover/land use change, and human-environment interactions
  Affiliate Faculty/ Email Department Research Interests
  Shadi Atallah
shadi.atallah@unh.edu
UNH Natural Resources and the Environment/University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign Bioeconomics; Ecosystem services; Environmental and resource economics; Sustainable agricultural and food systems
  John Campbell
jlcampbell@fs.fed.us
USDA Forest Service Biogeochemical cycling, water quality, forest ecosystems
  Kevin Dodds
kdodds@fs.fed.us
USDA Forest Service Forest entomology, forest health, insect ecology, forest disturbance
  Richard Hallett
rhallett@fs.fed.us
USDA Forest Service

Urban forest ecology and management, remote sensing, forest health, working across the rural to urban continuum

  David Hollinger
david.hollinger@unh.edu
USDA Forest Service Forest-atmosphere interactions, global policy change
  John G.W. Kelley
john.kelley@noaa.gov
john.kelley@unh.edu
Center for Coastal & Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center GIS-based web mapping and coastal, estuarine, and Great Lakes oceanographic forecast modeling systems
  Paul Kirshen
Paul.Kirshen@umb.edu
School for the Environment, University of Massachusetts Boston Water resources engineering and management, climate change vulnerability assessment and adaptation planning
  Rakesh Minocha
rakesh.minocha@unh.edu
USDA Forest Service Acid rain, stress physiology, biochemical stress indicators, forest health
  Isabel Munck
imunck@fs.fed.us
USDA Forest Service

Forest pathology, forest health, forest ecology, forest management

  Barrett Rock
(Professor Emeritus)
barry.rock@unh.edu
Natural Resources and the Environment/ESRC