Current Students Research

Students currently enrolled in the NRESS Ph.D. program number 51, making NRESS one of the largest Ph.D. programs at UNH.  Students are in varying stages of their doctoral studies, from first year to late candidacy, and the degree path (NRES or EES) is also noted below for each student.  Some student listings are linked to profile pages, which include a description of the research, awards, presentations and publications, and other related links.  Meet and explore NRESS students and their research!

NRESS Ph.D. student Bianca Cardona

Natalie Lounsbury, NRESS PhD candidate

 

Student Name Degree Advisor Department Research Topic * indicates at candidacy
Ashif Abir          AshifHasan.Abir@unh.edu NRES Wil Wollheim NREN  
Breanne Aflague*
Breanne.Aflague@unh.edu
NRES Jeffrey Garnas NREN The Effect of EAB Density and Tree Stress on  Parasitism Rates of the Biocontrol Wasp Tetrastichus planipennisi

Emily Anders              Emily.Anders@unh.edu

NRES Heidi Asbjornsen NREN  
Isaac Ativor
Isaac.Ativor@unh.edu
EES Richard Smith NREN Strategies for Cropping System Diversification and the Effects of Crop Diversity on Agroecosystem Services and Pest Population Dynamics
Amanda Beal*
aec84@wildcats.unh.edu
NRES John Carroll   Natural Resource Considerations in Food Production
Emma Bergh              Emma.Bergh@unh.edu NRES Stuart Grandy NREN  
Nathan Blais                Nathan.Blais@unh.edu NRES Jessica Ernakovich NREN  
Sam Bratsman              Sam.Bratsman@unh.edu EES Jessica Ernakovich NREN  
Emma Burkett
Emma.Burkett@unh.edu
EES Julie Bryce Michael Palace ESCI Geochemical and Remote Sensing Reconstructions of Timescales for Magma Assembly in the Aleutian Volcanic Arc and Satellite Remote Sensing of Volcanic Ash with Ground-truthed Ash Detection Modeling in the Aleutians
Andrew Butler
Andrew.R.Butler@unh.edu
NRES Rem Moll NREN

Influence of Urbanization on Furbearer Abundance, Distribution, and Community Ecology

Jonathan Clark*
Jonathan.Clark@unh.edu
EES Adrienne Kovach NREN

Parallel Evolution of Tidal Marsh Sparrows

Melissa Clark*
Melissa.Clark@unh.edu
EES Michael Palace ESCI Model Landscape Permeability
Amanda Daly*
Amanda.Daly@unh.edu
EES Stuart Grandy NREN Soil Microbial Ecology and Biogeochemistry in Sustainable Agriculture
Nell Davis                          Nell.Davis@unh.edu NRES Teresa Cohn NREN  
Laura Diemer                      Laura.Diemer@unh.edu NRES Wil Wollheim NREN  
Cassidy Dietz                Cassidy.Dietz@unh.edu NRES Adrienne Kovach NREN  

Jo Field                                  Jo.Field@unh.edu

NRES

Catherine Ashcraft / Thomas Safford

NREN Community Engagement in Building Resilience to Extreme Heat Risks in Seacoast New Hampshire
Kristin Green                Kristin.Green@unh.edu NRES Teresa Cohn NREN Meaningful Collaboration with Tribes in National Forest Planning Processes

Jack Hastings
Jack.Hastings@unh.edu

NRES Scott Ollinger NREN

Remote Sensing and Modeling of Temperate Forested Ecosystems

Tim Hoheneder              Tim.Hoheneder@unh.edu EES Jennifer Jacobs CEE  
Mohammed Sadid Hossain      MohammedSadid.Hossain@unh.edu NRES Alix Contosta EOS  
Kirsten Howard
Kirsten.Howard@unh.edu
NRES Cameron Wake   Sea-level Rise Displacement in Small, Tourist-dependent Coastal Beach Towns in the Northeast United States
Jingyan Huang
Jingyan.Huang@unh.edu
NRES Weiwei Mo CEE  
Clarisse Ishimwe          Clarisse.Ishimwe@unh.edu EES Adam Wymore NREN  
Cheristy Jones              Cheristy.Jones@unh.edu EES Ruth Varner ESCI Linking vertical methane and carbon dioxide emissions to lateral carbon transport and transformation in the Arctic
Caroline Kanaskie*
Caroline.Kanaskie@unh.edu
EES Jeffrey Garnas NREN Community Ecology in the Expanding Range of Southern Pine Beetle
Natalie Kashi       Natalie.Kashi@unh.edu EES Erik Hobbie EOS  
Dylan Kelly*
Dylan.Kelly@unh.edu
NRES Meghan Howey ANTH Reconstructing Past Indigenous and Colonial Land-Use Impacts on Surface Climate in The Great Bay Estuary
Jawad Khan*
MJawad.Khan@unh.edu
NRES John Halstead/ Shadi Atallah NREN Separate the Effects of Pesticides of Different Companies and Quantify the Pollinator Behavior using Maching Learning (ML)
Reese Levea                Reese.Levea@unh.edu NRES Wil Wollheim NREN  
Tristan Mandeville        Tristan.Mandeville@unh.edu EES Richard Smith / Alexandra Contosta NREN  
Tamara Marcus*
Tamara.Marcus@unh.edu
EES Ruth Varner   ESCI Measuring Methane Emissions from Permafrost Thaw in Northern Sweden and the Himalaya
Trevor Mattera    Trevor.Mattera@unh.edu NRES David Burdick NREN  
Anna Mikulis             Anna.Mikulis@unh.edu NRES Bill McDowell NREN Water Quality and Eelgrass Health in Estuarine Ecosystems
David Moore*
David.B.Moore@unh.edu
NRES Heidi Asbjornsen NREN Syrup Production

Lara Munro
Lara.Munro@unh.edu

NRES Wilfred Wollheim/ Scott Ollinger NREN Large-scale Patterns of Watershed-level Carbon and Nitrogen Biogeochemistry
Thomas Muratore*
Thomas.Muratore@unh.edu
EES Serita Frey NREN Global Change Ecology of Plant and Microbial Systems
Desneiges (Deni) MurrayDesneiges.Murray@unh.edu EES Adam Wymore NREN The response of atmospheric nitrogen deposition to global change: effects on terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems
Eric Parker                      Eric.Parker@unh.edu EES Adam Wymore NREN  

Taylor Readyhough        Taylor.Readyhough@unh.edu

EES Rem Moll NREN Urban mammal community ecology across gradients of anthropogenic influence
Manjot Rekhi                  ManjotKaur.Rekhi@unh.edu EES Stuart Grandy NREN  
Sean Schaefer*
Sean.Schaefer@unh.edu
EES Jessica Ernakovich NREN

Microbial Ecology in Arctic Ecosystems with an Emphasis on Gene Expression to Predict Functional Community Changes as Result of a Changing Climate

Else Schlerman          Else.Schlerman@unh.edu EES Stuart Grandy NREN  
Michael Simmons*
Michael.Simmons@unh.edu
EES Thomas Lee NREN Factors and Interactions Associated with Decline of Red Pine Forests in New England
Maddie Smith              Maddie.Smith@unh.edu NRES Michael Ferguson RMP Assessing the Impacts of Climate Change on New Hampshire Outdoor Recreation from Visitor and Provider Perspectives
Jess Steketee*
Jess.Steketee@unh.edu
NRES Rebecca Rowe NREN

Population Ecology of Arctic Rodents

Nathan Thorp    Nathan.Thorp@unh.edu EES Erik Hobbie EOS  
Chika Ugwuodo*
ChikaJude.Ugwuodo@unh.edu
EES Paula Mouser CEE Microbial Ecosystem Dynamics in Engineered Energy Systems, With Focus on Fracking Wells
Vandy Vandewater    Vandy.Vanderwater@unh.edu NRES Scott Ollinger NREN  
Nicholas Warren
Nicholas.Warren@unh.edu
EES Richard Smith NREN The Relationship Between Community Functioning and the Associated Ecosystem Processes
Emily Whalen*
Emily.Whalen@unh.edu
EES Serita Frey NREN Global Change Effects on Soil Microbial Communities and Carbon Storage
Christopher Whitney*
Chris.Whitney@unh.edu
EES Wilfred Wollheim NREN The Role of Beaver Ponds and Fluvial Wetlands in Aquatic Nitrogen Removal from Headwaters to River Network-scale
Joshua Willems            Joshua.Willems@unh.edu NRES Rebecca Rowe NREN Influence of Resource Availability and Forest Management on Small Mammal Population and Community Dynamics
Catherine (C.J.) Wong
CJ.Wong@unh.edu
NRES Rebecca Rowe NREN

Population Ecology of Flying Squirrels in Forest Fragments Including a Citizen Science Approach

Michal Zahorik*
Michal.Zahorik@unh.edu
NRES Catherine Ashcraft NREN Resilient Communities: The Role of Land-Use Planning and Conservation in Flood Risk Management
Samuel Zuckerman*
Samuel.Zuckerman@unh.edu
NRES Heidi Asbjornsen NREN Tree Physiological Responses to Drought